Gambit – from the Five Pawns sampler

IMGP4186

Gambit:

Essentially, this is an apple pastry topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, caramel, and a dollop of unsweetened whipped cream (basically, right?).   The aroma produced by the exhale reminds my wife of “Tarte Tartin“.  The apple is subtle – this isn’t a candy or green apple flavor, after all.  The sweet and tart of the apple is nicely balanced with the savory pie crust and vanilla.

What really makes this stand out for me is the fact that I want to take a bite of it.  I frequently find myself trying to get a mouthful of vapor wishing I could chomp down on it.  It’s tempting to say I feel like I might need to wipe a dribble of vanilla ice cream off my face when I’m finished with the vape.

Given the description, part of me wants the apple to be more pronounced.  But, that would make it more like American Apple pie, not fine French Pastry.  Part of the appeal of the Five Pawns line of liquid is that they’re challenging my expectations of an eLiquid.  My suspicion is that Gambit has spent time in a small, pre scorched, wooden barrel as well.  Just like the Grandmaster, when the wick starts to dry out, I get woody notes.  Surely this is informing the sweet yet earthy flavor in the pastry.

The presentation here is also helpful to my experience.  I appreciate the inclusion of “tasting notes”.  No matter how hard I try, I don’t really have a refined palate that can identify the secret ingredients in fine cuisine.  The “tasting notes”, however, encourage me to dig a little deeper into the constituent parts.  The result is an enhanced appreciation for their relationships.

♦♦♦

Gambit (Five Pawns)

Thanks for Reading & Happy Vaping!

-Alex

About MrAlexC

Full Time Van Jockey, Part time Art Maker.
This entry was posted in A Juice Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment